My Sanctuary [TVXQ Reflections]

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

(This was the piece I submitted for CASSIOPEIA PHILIPPINES’ 7TH GATHERING ESSAY CONTEST. Unfortunately, I did not win, nevertheless, I still want to share this, for I struggled so much to limit my words to 300 (contest rule). Anyway, here goes…)

Whenever the night is cold and deep, and when destructive emotions lurk in the darkness, I sit by the windowpane, counting the stars that seem to equal my anxieties and fears. No matter how breathless the scenery could be, there is only one scene that could save me. A portrait of five vivid stars, connected by destiny, bound by fate and sealed by devotion. Suddenly, I find shelter…

I have never thought that anyone could teach me things that I thought I already knew. And I never thought that miracles indeed exist in a form of simple individuals who wanted nothing but to achieve their dreams.

It was the first time I have ever fallen in love so deep that even the words I once couldn’t understand, meant so much to me. I always thought the music could only touch people’s hearts, but I never knew that it could even purify one’s soul and connect hearts together.

I never knew FAITH until now. I never knew its significance when you learn to devote yourself to someone. I never knew it could change tears of sorrow into droplets of happiness. I never knew that it could even break down walls of distance. I never thought that FAITH could be a cure to impatience, anxiety, fear and loneliness.

I never knew it could be my salvation. I have found myself: a person who can wait, who can love without any conditions, who can believe in fairy tales and can dream with no limits.

All of these, I learned when I gazed towards that beautiful portrait of five stars, of that five amazing individuals, connected together, bringing shelter for people like myself. Yes, here, in Dong Bang Shin Ki’s Red Ocean. I am their fan – And they are my sanctuary.

Leave a Reply

