The Writing Never Ends…

 

 

544089_758828607465086_1271441675_n

For someone who rather has everything in the eyes of most, I firmly believe that I have nothing else I can be proud of aside from my writing. Yet, that only treasure I can flaunt to every judgmental and expecting pair of eyes, still can’t match the brightness of the stars in the skies. That is why I believe, that in each of my writings, there is never an ‘ending’ dot – simply because the elaboration and seeking of ideas to master the craft better never ends.

For every war of the real world I enter, I always include this statement to hook hiring managers, ‘I learned to write even before I learned the existence of Algebra.’ I always include this statement, not because I want to tell every reviewer of my experiences, but to subtly tell them that I believe writing was my destiny. As a child, no, even until now, I have always been someone who had many likes. In contemporary and film terms, I was born divergent: I have always wanted to learn everything. As a music enthusiast, I learned to harness the power of my vocals at a tender age I can’t even remember – other than it was during the time my father still lived (my father died when I was 9). I also learned to defy the unfortunate fate that I could not tap my feet the way I have always wanted them to – and tried dancing. I never had the confidence with regards to the latter, but since my teacher did not give up on me, I thought I didn’t have the right to do so as well. And even if until now I am still trying, at least, I now have the courage to move on the stage.

KPOP Singing Class. Photo from my friend, Kimmie.
KPOP Singing Class. Photo from my friend, Kimmie.
KPOP Dance Class Recital. Photo from my friend, Tita Bem.
KPOP Dance Class Recital. Photo from my friend, Tita Bem.

My love for music once led me to produce melodies with strings, too. On one of my birthdays during my secondary years, I received a violin from my mother. But I figured we didn’t have the capability to support the education for it, so I rested the wooden treasure and decided to just use my voice. It was a hard decision on my part, considering I was the type to never give up learning new things. But I guess the lesson stands that ‘you can’t always have everything.’

Another love of mine is art. As a child, I loved to draw. Prior to discovering writing, I would always spend my lonely days in the comforts of my favorite music, with pencils and papers on top of my desk. At some point in our lives, we fell in love with moving fantasy characters drawn by talented hands; and at some point in our lives, we wanted to be the ones who held the pencils or pens. For me, I was blessed enough to once have dreamt for that bigger than the others – who also, fortunately, knew how to make it happen. The books I read, the cartoons I watched, the comics I read, and of course, my own pair of hands, allowed me to create a 500-page mini comic series when I was still at the age of thirteen. However, these stories disappeared as my life transitioned to a chapter that would eventually become the climax of my story.

I discovered my love for writing after my grade school teacher recruited me to write for the campus publication. It was one of the last days before me and classmates’ fifth grade school year ended. With a surname that started with one of the last letters of the alphabet, I sat near her desk which situated at the back. I was doing the usual: sketching here and there, and wondering what it was like to become a grown-up, when she spoke what became a wonderful invitation to a wonderful event in my life. She was checking our papers when she took note of how I wrote my essay; and after some technical phrases which I still couldn’t understand back then, she suggested for me to try writing for the campus publication. Writing was something new, so of course, I went ahead. And the rest became history. I took the invitation seriously, and I took with me until now – writing became my destiny, and my life.

Writing history. Naming history.
Writing history. Naming history.

Writing became my best friend – accompanying me to the craziest of adventures, the most insane of decisions, and to the most incredible discoveries about the world and myself. I write about the music artists I like – had all of them published online to promote them, their music, their events, their fanclubs, and even my love for them. I write about the world – how it fascinated me ever since I first stepped out of the country, took my internship with one of the best travel magazines in the Philippines, and met people of different cultures. I write about myself – after I discovered that the greatest mystery is in fact, ourselves. I write about life – its lessons, its ups and downs – through my own eyes. There is still so much I want to write about, and there is still so much that needs to be written about. So eventually, I came to the conclusion that I can never do it alone – unless I find others who would want to do it with me. And with a one-liner encouragement from the professor, who forever changed my views, my ultimate dream was realized – that is, to become someone who would also encourage future writers with one-liner, life-changing statements. And I want it to begin where mine began.

Writing requires seeing the world.
Writing requires seeing the world.

However, I knew it would take time for me to become the person I want to be – so for now, I decided to just focus on the world. A few months before I actually walked up on stage to receive a piece of paper that would become the key to the entrance of the real world, I found my first job. As if once again adhering to my principles, my first job was something new to me – though it had always been around me. Content writing was far from what I trained with for years; but the content I had to write were existences that have always been close to my heart. Whole-heartedly accepting me despite my lack of experience in the technical area, I found a new family in my first company, as a content writer for online South Korean fashion malls. As someone who had passion for popular culture, fashion was an interest that took a good percentage in my heart. That was why it wasn’t that hard for me to adjust with the fresh atmosphere.

Newly-found writing manual.
Newly-found writing manual.
Style bible.
Style bible.

Prior to my arrival, the company only had two content writers – both experienced. As the department was still young, there wasn’t that much interaction going on between the two writers, as well as the task manager. Unfortunately, despite its young age, the content writing department was expanding within a short amount of time, and a great amount of pressure due to work constantly coming in. Understanding the need to get on with the real deal, I skipped training and instantly worked on the original tasks on my first day. It wasn’t easy – because passion can never fully fuel a person, especially if there’s a need for technicalities. I have always liked fashion, that is true, but I never truly knew the more intricate details such as the parts of clothes or even at the least, the types of collars. Each day as I worked on a great number of items needed to reach a daily quota, I would study at the same time. Thankfully, my experience – my practicum taught me a lot about multitasking; learning about different places, writing about them as if I’ve truly been there and experienced its cultures. And perhaps, I could say that writing in a way that I convince my readers, as well as myself, that my words are alive and breathing and coming from my systems – is a skill I gained after penning down a variety of genres throughout my scribe story.

Now.
Now.

Experiencing work, rooting back to my practicum, until now, allowed me to appreciate the habits and characteristics I disliked once. Paranoia always keeps me up at night whenever things bothered me beyond control, but it helps me finish work faster. One concrete example would be finishing daily quotas before lunch – unless of course additional work comes in the afternoons. Otherwise, always having a voice in the back of my head that says I have to completely focus on what’s front of me because time will always catch up – guides me to finish each working day with a satisfying output. As a writer who always has deadlines, having such fear helps accomplish what needs to be accomplished, and it pays that I have it.

I never once thought also, that being involved in what most perceive as a trivial and worthless activity helped me out to become a person that perhaps every company would want. As a South Korean Popular Culture enthusiast, I meet and interact with people from all around the globe each day; more extreme activities such as being involved in fanclubs and its activities even led me to rub elbows with prominent people. I write articles for a websites ran by fans – and these articles are accessed by people of different nationalities. Organizing events such as fan gatherings taught me how to PR small-scale events to big people: companies for sponsorship purposes. Acting as a bridge to local fans allowed me to even experience helping out in promoting a concert – working side by side with producers and music record company representatives; one time, even artists themselves. These experiences gave me confidence to easily deal with people, even if I’m meeting them for the first time. Fear of people ceased to exist the moment I connected to the world – going as far as making close ties with the higher-ups of the company I am with right now. At work I am professional towards them, but at the end of the day, I can easily shift to being a friend. I’ve always believed, after all, that a company functions best when everyone is breathing comfortably – while maintaining focus, but without pressure. Mostly with will because they truly have passion for the organization.

Immortalized.
Immortalized.

There is still so much I could tell, but I know there is always a limit to everything we do. But just like what I’ve said earlier, I don’t place ‘ending’ dots in each piece I write – just like how there are billions of combinations of letters and countless number of words that can be formed. And certainly, essays can never truly measure a person – but it can give a glimpse. I want you to know me better, just as how much I want to know myself better as well through you. Before I graduated from the university, I promised my professors I would come back, because there is still so much I need to learn about my writing. After all, the writing never ends…. Until you put a dot on it. And even if you did, there can always be a next paragraph.

There's more to come....
There’s more to come….

 

***

This piece was actually submitted for a job application. I am posting this here because I thought it was good enough of a piece to share, especially for those who want a peek inside my world 🙂

Leave a Reply

